Slowing down the enemy 

Or in derby…the jammer.

Probably my favorite and one of the better things I do as a blocker. Catching the jammer and slowing her down, long enough for my blockers to get to me to goat or hit her. When I started derby I was sure I’d want to be the jammer, not only because you get to wear a star on your head but it’s the one everyone cheers for, the one who scores the points. But once I started scrimmaging and experienced the ability to stop the jammer, hold her, mess up her plan, and hit her out…that is the thrill of derby for me that makes me feel badass…something I never felt before. Wasn’t long before God started to show me that I’ve been badass many times in my spiritual life…slowing down and messing up the enemies plans! Times when my ex husband was high and would threaten me and our son, times when I was terrified for our safety, times when I didn’t know what to do. I prayed. On my knees. And when I didn’t know what to pray, I would read chapters from the book of Psalms out loud. I sought out counsel for my hard times, I applied tools I had learned could help with an alcoholic husband. I was badass by doing all those things. But it was so slow, with very little victory and the exhaustion and fear made it hard to see where I was going. Does any of that sound familiar? The enemy. The one who doesn’t want us to find the hope in Jesus Christ. That enemy we CAN stand in his way, we can mess up his plans by our choices, prayers and trust in God. As I’ve learned as a blocker, I don’t need some awesome hit that sends the jammer across the track, all I need to do is hold her…slow her down…keep her from scoring more points. So in life. Your prayers, your bible reading and your doing the word of God DOES effect the enemy! Sometimes my holding results in a painful hit on the jammer, sometimes me. Sometimes I have to let her go once we reach out of play but it’s given good time for my jammer. Sometimes my teammates come to strengthen my hold on her, and sometimes the opposing team come to hit the shit out of me for their jammer. So in life…being badass with Christ is hard and will hurt at times. Don’t let that stop you. You count and you matter. Don’t forget that❤

Here’s some BASIC INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE LEAVING EARTH “BIBLE” stuff to work out on:)
“Remember what you said to me, your servant— I hang on to these words for dear life! These words hold me up in bad times; yes, your promises rejuvenate me. The insolent ridicule me without mercy, but I don’t budge from your revelation. I watch for your ancient landmark words, and know I’m on the right track. But when I see the wicked ignore your directions, I’m beside myself with anger. I set your instructions to music and sing them as I walk this pilgrim way. I meditate on your name all night, God , treasuring your revelation, O God . Still, I walk through a rain of derision because I live by your Word and counsel.”

Psalm 119:49‭-‬56 MSG

One thought on “Slowing down the enemy 

Leave a Reply

